Look what I found…

… in the vegetable basket.

A pair of saimese cucumbers…

I made some yum salad, not just any salad… but “khaman kakadi”. Khaman, is a marathi/gujrati word. I think it means ‘a savoury snack’. I may be wrong. Any inputs are welcome. Kakadi is cucumber. This too is a marathi/gujrati word.

I chopped the cucumber finely. Squeezed a quarter lime. Added a pinch of sugar and salt to taste. Added finely chopped coriander. Finally gave a tempering — heat 2 tsp of oil, to this add mustard seeds, a pinch of asafoetida (this is what gives that khaman smell) and two broken dry red chillies.
Dry Roast 2-3 tablespoons of groundnuts, coarsely ground the groundnuts and sprinkle it to the cucumber mixture.

Mix well. Eat with hot chapatis.

3 comments

  1. I have never heard of Asafoetida, and I do not know how to pronounce it, we have an Indian store in town I will go with it written on paper and ask x 🙂 I have three cucumber seedlings so I have time to research while they grow!

Leave a Reply

