Mix veggie cutlets

I’ve loved how my mum makes cutlets at home and they are very simple to make. Today I made some cutlets and Big Man loved them. Mimi is a little fussy in trying out new foods – but I hope he ends up like me and Big Man (we are total foodies).

So here goes – this basically has everything that was coming under too-less-to-make-something-on-their-own category. And I really din’t want to throw them away. So I put:

*2 potatoes
*2 carrots
*Handful of sprouted horse gram
*Handful of sprouted green gram

Added water and pressure cooked these together. Set them aside

I heated 2 tbsp oil in a deep pan and added

*2 sprigs of spring onions, finely chopped
*1 tsp of ginger and garlic paste

Fried it well till the onion was soft and partially cooked. Mashed the boiled veggies and added to the deep pan. To this I added:
* 2 tsp of cumin powder
*2 tsp of coriander powder (dhaniya powder)
*Salt to taste
*Red chilli powder as required

I got a little courageous and added some left over plain noodles.

Mixed well. To this I added

*3 slices of bread after crumbling it – this helps in binding the mix.

Mix well again. Cool the mixture. Take a handful of mixture and pat it down like a cutlet. Coat it with bread crumbs and shallow fry.

Serve with tomato sauce or chutney of your choice. This also makes a wonderful sandwich filling or paratha filling. Use your imagination and try any other kind of vegetables too. My mum used to use lots of beetroot also. You could even try french beans, green peas, cabbage or cauliflower.

Fry onions and ginger garlic paste

Add boiled veggies

Mix well after adding all ingredients

Ready to serve!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

