Stuffed pooris

Winter holidays are here and it’s a challenge making something new everyday to feed the little boy. With the aim of making something new and interesting I tried making pooris in different shapes, that were cut using a cookie cutter, and had a little stuffing made from potatoes, sweet corn, peas, carrot, salt and pepper.
Result?
Words straight from the horse’s mouth… ‘Amma! These are super! 100% super!’

3

Pooris are a very popular dish in India. They are made from whole wheat flour. A dough is made by mixing whole wheat flour and water. I add a pinch of salt while making the dough, for taste.ย  The dough is rolled out into thin circles and deep fried.
There are many varients ofย  pooris. While some keep it simple (like the one I’ve made here), you can add carom seeds or a little finely chopped fenugreek leaves. Some people add pureed spinach while making the dough. These will lend yummy, green coloured, very healthy pooris.
Another varient is where the dough has only ‘all the purpose flour’. In this recipe, you mix the flour with yogurt instead of water and leave it sometime before making the pooris. The outcome is some yummy tasting ‘batura’.

Pooris are accompanied by gravies of all kinds. Potato gravy, mix veg gravy (I’ve made my version here) or chick pea gravy.
Since my version was a quick fix snack, I served it with tomato ketchup.

My recipe is quite simple, really. I mixed:
1 small mashed potato
1/4 cup boiled sweet corn
1/4 cup boiled peas
1/4 grated carrot.
salt and pepper to taste.

2

Roll out the dough. I used the cookie cutters and made 2 pieces of each shape. I have 6 different shapes. I put a little stuffing between two pieces and pressed the sides and then deep fried it in hot oil.

1
Voila!

IMG_1875 IMG_1915

I think these will make wonderful tiffin snacks too. I can think of so many other stuffing suggestions – paneer (cottage cheese), onion and carrot, cabbage and carrot, just peas and potato…..

This post is part of the monthly link up party Our Growing Edge.our-growing-edge-badgeThis event aims to connect food bloggers and inspire us to try new things. This month is hosted by Louise at Crumbs and Corkscrews

4 comments

Leave a Reply

